Pakistan's team for the ICC Men's T20 World Cup Australia 2022, which will take place from October 16 to November 13, was named by Chief Selector Mohammad Waseem on Thursday.

Pakistan has been one of the most consistent teams to date, having won the championship in 2009 in the United Kingdom, advanced to the final in 2007, and participated in the semifinals in 2010, 2012, and 2021.

Along with fast bowlers Mohammad Wasim Junior and Shaheen Shah Afridi, top-order batsman Shan Masood has been selected for the 15-player World Cup team for the first time, while the three travelling reserves are Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Haris, and Shahnawaz Dahani.


Pakistan squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Junior, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood and Usman Qadir

Travelling reserves: Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Haris and Shahnawaz Dahani.

Prior to their arrival in Brisbane on 15 October, the World Cup-bound squad will feature in the T20I tri-series in Christchurch from 7-14 October where Bangladesh and New Zealand will be the other participating sides.

We have a team that can do well at the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022, according to chief selector Muhammad Wasim. Since practically the same group of players has been a part of the T20I team following the 2021 World Cup in the UAE, we have showed faith and confidence in them. Since November 2021, these players have excelled, and as a result, we have won nine of our past 13 T20 Internationals. Since we made an investment in these cricket players, it is only right that they be given the chance to compete in the World Cup, an event for which they have been working hard to get ready. We had to make sure that these guys had support and continuity, and we have done just that.

All of the players who will travel for the World Cup have been picked by the selectors, with the exception of Fakhar Zaman and Shaheen Shah Afridi, for the seven-match T20I series against England. According to their plan to reward top players, the selectors have replaced them with Northern's all-rounder Aamir Jamal and Sindh's unidentified spinner Abrar Ahmed.

Along with Shan Masood, Muhammad Wasim added, "I want to congratulate Aamir Jamal and Abrar Ahmed for receiving their first calls to the national team. Both Aamir and Abrar have been chosen because we think they have what it takes to represent Pakistan at the highest level, and I have faith that they will succeed if given the chance.

Squad for England T20Is:

Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Aamir Jamal, Abrar Ahmed, Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Junior, Naseem Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani, Shan Masood and Usman Qadir 

Schedule for matches:

Pakistan v England T20Is (matches to start at 1930 PKT):

20 September – 1st T20I, Karachi

22 September – 2nd T20I, Karachi

23 September – 3rd T20I, Karachi

25 September – 4th T20I, Karachi

28 September – 5th T20I, Lahore

30 September – 6th T20I, Lahore

2 October – 7th T20I, Lahore

Pakistan v Bangladesh and New Zealand (T20I tri-series)

7 October – vs Bangladesh, Christchurch

8 October – vs New Zealand, Christchurch

11 October – vs New Zealand, Christchurch

13 October – vs Bangladesh, Christchurch

14 October – Final, Christchurch

Pakistan at ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Australia 2022:

23 October – vs India, Melbourne

27 October – vs winner Group B, Perth

30 October – vs runner-up Group A, Perth

3 November – vs South Africa, Sydney

6 November – vs Bangladesh, Adelaide

Written By Web Desk