The federal government has officially released a notification outlining the public and optional holidays for the year 2024. According to the announcement from the Cabinet Division, citizens can anticipate a total of 39 holidays, comprising 16 public holidays and 23 optional holidays.

Key public holidays highlighted in the notification include:

  • Kashmir Day: February 5, 2024
  • Pakistan Day: March 23, 2024
  • Labor Day: May 1, 2024
  • Eid-ul-Fitr: April 10 to April 12, 2024 (3 days)
  • Eid-ul-Azha: June 17 to June 19, 2024 (3 days)
  • 9th and 10th Muharram: July 16 and 17, 2024
  • Independence Day: August 14, 2024
  • Eid Milad-ul-Nabi: September 16, 2024
  • Iqbal Day: November 9, 2024
  • Quaid-e-Azam Day: December 25, 2024
  • Christian Employees Holiday: December 26, 2024

Additionally, the notification designates January 1, March 11, and July 1 as bank holidays for the year 2024.

For Muslim government employees, the notification specifies that they will not be entitled to more than one optional leave in a year. On the other hand, non-Muslim government employees are limited to a maximum of three optional leaves annually.

It's important to note that the Islamic holidays for the year 2024 have been tentatively fixed, and a separate notification will be issued based on the sighting of the moon.

This comprehensive schedule of public and optional holidays aims to provide clarity to the public, businesses, and government offices for planning and observance throughout the upcoming year.

Written By Web Desk

The Webdesk of Times of Karachi is known for its captivating stories that cover a range of topics, including politics, society, culture, and entertainment.